…on accomplishing something

“… striving according to His working which works in me mightily” col 1.29

For the past several months, I have worked hard to launch a small groups program at my church.  After months of thinking and planning, we launched what we call “House Church”, just 5 weeks ago.  Since then I have been planning each week’s ‘service’ which has included various discussions etc in one another’s homes.  Tonight, we ate a spaghetti dinner, shared the Lord’s Supper, and did an ancient bible study method called lectio divina on the Lord’s Prayer.

I’ve got to admit, it’s been awesome.  Each week has been rich and intimate, loving, challenging and encouraging.  I love House Church.  But each week, I watch others love it too.  So far, I’m witnessing this form of Christian community enrich and better our lives.  I believe, rather optimistically, that House Church is going to make our lives and the world better; it is going to bring God’s Kingdom to Earth in a new yet permanent way.  I think what makes this experience most special is the incredible people I am doing this with… its not just great content, its great community.

As I was driving home tonight, I felt like I had accomplished something.  And that is an awesome feeling.  I don’t want to take credit for House Church and its apparent success.  But I have this incredible feeling that I am in line with God’s will for my life, and now that I’ve stepped into God’s calling, God has used me to accomplish something great.  This is an exciting place to be in life, and I am profoundly thankful to God that He has brought me here!

Thank you, God, for placing this terrifying and wonderful call upon my life—to fling myself entirely upon the work of ministry and see your Kingdom come crashing down into my world.

This entry was posted in Life Snap and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to …on accomplishing something

  1. Andrew says:

    This was refreshing to me.

  2. Michael Ingham says:

    Thanks for sharing what God is doing brother. It is encouraging to read about! Hope you and Ronella are doing well!

  3. Awesome to hear from you Mike! Hope all is wonderful down in south Georgia!

Leave a Reply

