…on seminarying

Yesterday I started seminary.  Well, Divinity school to be exact.  Well, I started orientation for Divinity school to be honest.  Let me give just a few quick initial thoughts and first impressions about Wake Forest University School of Divinity.

Everyone seemed real nice.  One fellow first year student made that comment as well, to which I responded, “well what do you expect, it is Divinity school!”  Yet, I suppose at times I had visions of going to school with at least a few snooty and arrogant liberals and/ or wide eyed, bible-thumpin’ conservatives.  None of this was evident yesterday.  I suppose we’ll just give that some time to surface.  (but hopefully not)

Everyone was real nice.  Professors, first year students and any other students who happened to be there… they were all very friendly and amiable people.  It seems it will be a very close-knit group; very communitive and familial.  I’m real excited about that.  The professors whom I was able to meet seemed awesome as well.

Briefly: if all goes as planned I’ll be taking Hebrew, New Testament Interpretation, Church History, Art of Ministry, and Faith and Policy… which includes a weekend trip to D.C. and is taught by two exciting profs.

I’ve been a little worried at times over the last year that Wake was the wrong decision, but I feel a lot more comfortable since yesterday.  It felt right to plant my feet on the soil of the campus and start calling it home.  I think the next three years will be challenging, stretching, and above all, transforming.

The morning of orientation, I pulled out my bible and read the following passage.  I believe God led me to this exact text the day I started seminary as an important exhortation to take with me through school.

“The goal of this command is love, which comes from a pure heart and a good conscience and a sincere faith. Some have wandered away from these and turned to meaningless talk. They want to be teachers of the law, but they do not know what they are talking about or what they so confidently affirm.”

1 tim. 1.5-7

This entry was posted in Life Snap. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

